Big Education Schools login

What is Seven Levels of Leadership?

Richard Barrett’s seven levels of leadership consciousness provide a framework for understanding a leader’s internal development. It’s visualised as a pyramid, with the most basic needs at the bottom and more evolved states at the top.

The lower levels focus on fulfilling our personal needs for survival, security, and self-esteem. Leaders at these levels might be primarily concerned with keeping things stable, following rules, and maintaining order. As leaders progress, they develop a sense of purpose and social responsibility. They become more inspiring, build strong team cultures, and focus on achieving results. Ultimately, the highest levels are characterised by visionary leadership, where leaders are driven by service to humanity and the planet. They strive to create a positive impact on a global scale. By understanding these levels, leaders can identify their current leadership style and work towards a more evolved state.

What is an example use of Seven Levels of Leadership?

This model is great for reflecting on your team or organisation as a whole.

Which areas are being overplayed?

Which areas need more attention?

What is the effect of that?

How might you do something to address that?

Staff login

Your courses

You are not yet enrolled in any courses. If you opted to Pay by Invoice on checkout, you will be enrolled once we have received payment, details of which can be found in your original order email.